A- A A+
Last Updated : May 30 2020 12:10PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Modi Govt completes 1st year of 2nd term in office today; BJP to hold virtual rallies in all districts to mark the occasion            Labour Ministry starts Online Career Skills Training to enhance personality development of job seekers            COVID-19 recovery rate improves to 47.40% in country            17 flights under Vande Bharat Mission to bring back stranded Indians from Gulf countries today            Donald Trump announces America is terminating its relationship with WHO over its handling of Corona virus           

National News

Dec 12, 2018

Hectic parleys on for govt formation in five states

Representational Image
Hectic parleys are on for the government formation in five states where results of assembly elections were declared on Wednesday.

In Madhya Pradesh, outgoing Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has taken the sole responsibility for the BJP’s defeat in the state assembly elections. 

Mr Chouhan was speaking in his first press conference after conceding defeat to the Congress.

Mr Chouhan said, he has congratulated State Congress President Kamal Nath on his party’s performance in the assembly elections. 

Reminding the Congress of its promise to waive off farm loans within 10 days of coming to power, he expressed hope that the new government would continue the welfare schemes initiated by his government. 

Recounting his party’s accomplishments in the last 15 years, Mr Chouhan thanked the people for allowing him and the BJP to serve them and said he is indebted to the state. 

Earlier in the day, he tendered his resignation to the Governor. 

After his resignation, decks are cleared for the Congress party to form the government in the state. The newly elected Congress legislature party met in Bhopal on Wednesday evening. 

Our correspondent reports, senior party leader AK Antony attended the meeting as an Observer. 

The Congress bagged 114 seats in the 230-member Madhya Pradesh assembly, ahead of the BJP with 109 seats. Both parties fell short of the majority mark of 116, but the Congress has emerged as the single-largest party, staking claim to form the government with the support of BSP and SP. 

However, the BJP edged ahead of the Congress in the vote share by a slender margin, bagging 41 per cent of the total votes polled, while the Congress got 40.9 per cent.

In Rajasthan, a Congress delegation met Governor Kalyan Singh in Jaipur this evening to stake claim to form the government in the state. 

However, the decision regarding legislature party leader has been left to Congress president Rahul Gandhi. Our correspondent reports, Party observer K.C Venugopal and state in-charge Avinash Pandey will meet Mr Gandhi tomorrow to discuss the issue.

In Chhattisgarh, Congress party is all set to form the next government in the state after its landslide victory in assembly elections. 

In Telangana, TRS Chief K Chandrasekhar Rao will be swearing in as Chief Minister of the state, for the second time on Thursday afternoon. 

Along with Mr Rao, a few ministers will also be taking oath at the ceremonial programme to be held at the Raj Bhavan in Hyderabad. 

Talking to reporters after the legislature party meeting where he was elected as the Telangana Rashtra Samiti legislature party leader, the TRS Chief said, the cabinet will be expanded later to a full-fledged one. All the newly-elected TRS MLAs attended the meeting.

The TRS MLAs also submitted a letter to Governor ESL Narasimhan informing him about their decision. Prior to that, the caretaker Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao tendered his resignation. 

In Mizoram, the new government of Mizo National Front (MNF), headed by Mr Zoramthanga will be sworn in on Saturday. The decision was taken after an MNF delegation led by Party President and Chief Minister-designate Zoramthanga met Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan at Raj Bhavan in Aizawl on Wednesday evening. 

In the 40-member state Assembly, MNF has secured a landslide victory with 26 seats in the assembly election held on 28th of last month. The ruling Congress has reduced to 5 seats. 

   Related News

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 30 (May) Midday News 29 (May) News at Nine 29 (May) Hourly 30 (May) (1005hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 30 (May) दोपहर समाचार 29 (May) समाचार संध्या 29 (May) प्रति घंटा समाचार 30 (May) (1100hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 30 (May) Khabrein(Day) 29 (May) Khabrein(Eve) 29 (May)
Aaj Savere 30 (May) Parikrama 29 (May)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 29 (May) Samayki 29 (May) Sports Scan 23 (Mar) Spotlight/News Analysis 29 (May) Samachar Darshan 22 (Mar) Radio Newsreel 21 (Mar)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 12 (Mar) Surkhiyon Mein 10 (May) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 11 (Mar) Vaad-Samvaad 17 (Mar) Money Talk 17 (Mar) Current Affairs 6 (Mar)
  • Money Matters 22 (Mar)
  • International News 22 (Mar)
  • Press Review 23 (Mar)
  • From the States 23 (Mar)
  • Let's Connect 22 (Mar)
  • 360°- Ek Parivesh 23 (Mar)
  • Know Your Constitution 30 (Jan)
  • Ek Bharat Shreshta Bharat 22 (Mar)
  • Sanskriti Darshan 23 (Mar)
  • Fit India New India 23 (Mar)
  • Weather Report 21 (Mar)
  • North East Diaries 22 (Mar)
  • 150 Years of Bapu 22 (Mar)
  • Sector Specific Discussions 22 (Mar)