Last Updated : May 21 2019 11:12PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Election Commission asserts polled EVMs absolutely safe in strongrooms            EC says dissents in its orders related to model code violations will not be made public            Prime Minister Narendra Modi describes NDA as a grouping which represents the aspiration of the people of India            Arunachal Pradesh: MLA, 10 other people killed in ambush            14 Indian women enter semi finals of India Open International Boxing tournament           

Sports News

Jan 22, 2019

Virat Kohli creates history, becomes first player ever to win Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year

NSD Logo
Team India skipper Virat Kohli today ed history by becoming the first player in history to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year. The ICC said in a statement that Kohli  also won awards as the ICC Men's Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year.

Kohli was also named captain of ICC's Test and ODI teams of 2018 for a fabulous run in international cricket.

India's victory in the Under-19 World Cup was voted as the Fans' Moment of the Year.The 36-member voting panel was unanimous in picking Kohli for the Sobers award. He  also ended the year at No. 1 in both the rankings for Tests and ODIs.

Kohli scored 1,322 runs  in 13 Tests with five hundreds during the calendar year while in 14 ODIs he amassed 1202 runs  with six centuries. He also scored 211 runs in 10 T20 Internationals.

His performance was put into sharper context by the fact that India played most of their cricket in 2018 away from the subcontinent. 
South African cricketer Kagiso Rabada finished second both for the overall category and the one for Test players. Afghan cricketer Rashid Khan was the runner-up for the ODI award. 

Among the other major winners were Rishabh Pant, who was named the Emerging Cricketer of the Year. Sri Lanka's Kumar Dharmasena was named the Umpire of the Year, while New Zealand cricketer Kane Williamson won the Spirit of Cricket award.

PM’s Exclusive Interview to DD News

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 21 (May) Midday News 21 (May) News at Nine 21 (May) Hourly 21 (May) (2300hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 21 (May) दोपहर समाचार 21 (May) समाचार संध्या 21 (May) प्रति घंटा समाचार 21 (May) (2305hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 21 (May) Khabrein(Day) 21 (May) Khabrein(Eve) 21 (May)
Aaj Savere 21 (May) Parikrama 21 (May) Lok Ruchi Samachar 19 (May)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 21 (May) Samayki 21 (May) Sports Scan 21 (May) Spotlight/News Analysis 21 (May)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 28 (Mar) Surkhiyon Mein 4 (Apr) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 15 (May) Vaad-Samvaad 7 (May) Money Talk 7 (May) Current Affairs 22 (Mar)