A- A A+
Last Updated : Jan 18 2020 11:15PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Govt says post abrogation of Article 370 J&K has seen a new dawn and is to see exemplary transformation in coming years            Pre-paid mobile connections restored in J&K            Home Minister Amit Shah accuses Congress of dividing country on religion            NSA Ajit Doval meets Lankan President Rajapaksa to discuss strategic cooperation between India and Sri Lanka            India to take on Australia in 3rd & final ODI tomorrow; AIR to broadcast live commentary           

National News

Apr 04, 2019

Filing of nominations for 3rd phase of LS Polls ends

Filing of nominations for the third phase of Lok Sabha election ended on Thursday evening. Scrutiny of nominations will take place tomorrow and 8th April is the last date for withdrawal. One hundred and fifteen seats spread over 12 States and two Union Territories, will go to polls in this phase on the 23rd of April. 

All parliamentary constituencies of Gujarat, Goa, Kerala, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Daman and Diu will go to polls in the third phase. Besides this, voting in this phase will also take place for 14 seats each in Maharashtra and Karnataka, ten in Uttar Pradesh, seven in Chhattisgarh, six in Odisha, five each in Bihar and West Bengal, four in Assam, and one seat in Jammu and Kashmir.

The Congress today released another list of 12 candidates for Madhya Pradesh for the Lok Sabha elections. They include State Chief Minister Kamal Nath's son Nakul Nath from Chhindwara, former State Congress President Arun Yadav from Khandwa and Rajya Sabha MP Vivek Tankha from Jabalpur. With this, the Party has so far announced candidates for 21 out of 29 Lok Sabha seats in the State.
The party also announced that Mr. Kamal Nath will be the party candidate from Chhindwara Assembly constituency in by-polls. This was necessitated as Kamal Nath was the Lok Sabha member before assuming the charge of Chief Minister.

Meanwhile, Congress President Rahul Gandhi filed his nomination from Kerala’s Wayanad parliamentary constituency at the district headquarters in Kalpetta today. Later, speaking at a roadshow in Wayanad, Mr Gandhi said, he has come to Kerala to send a message that India is one.
Addressing an election rally in Nagpur, Mr Gandhi proclaimed that Congress will ensure Minimum Income to farmers if voted to power. 
Addressing a public meeting in Amethi, BJP leader Smriti Irani criticised Congress President Rahul Gandhi, saying his decision to contest from  Wayanad Lok Sabha seat in Kerala was an insult to the people of Amethi. 

In Gujarat, a number of candidates filed their nomination papers today. Polling for all 26 Lok Sabha seats will be held on 23rd of April.   

In Assam, 38 nomination papers have been filed for the third phase covering four seats. 57 candidates filed nominations in Bihar for 5 seats and 15 candidates for two constituencies in Goa in this phase.

Meanwhile, Nishad Party leader and Gorakhpur MP Praveen Nishad has joined Bhartiya Janata Party in the presence of senior BJP leader JP Nadda in Delhi today. The Party will support the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. This comes after Nishad Party parted ways with the SP-BSP-RLD alliance last month. 

In Rajasthan, the BJP today announced alliance with Rashtriya Loktantrik Party headed by MLA and former BJP leader Hanuman Beniwal. In a press Conference in Jaipur,  senior BJP leader Prakash Javdekar said, Mr Beniwal will contest lok Sabha election from Nagaur as RLP candidate and BJP will contest on remaining 24 seats of the state.
In Uttar Pradesh, notices have been issued to all ten candidates, including RLD's Ajit Singh and BJP's Sanjeev Kumar Baliyan, for not providing accurate details of election expenditure in Muzaffarnagar. Expenditure Observer OP Choudhary said, all have been asked to clarify and produce facts within 48 hours.

Meanwhile, electioneering has intensified in the state. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath addressed election meetings in Bijnaur and Bulandshahar Parliamentary segments. 

In another development, BJP has demanded the Election Commission to transfer District Magistrate and Superintendent of Police, Siliguri in West Bengal following alleged killing of its party worker in the area. A party delegation led by BJP leader Bhupendra Yadav met the Commission in New Delhi over the issue. 

   Related News

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 18 (Jan) Midday News 18 (Jan) News at Nine 18 (Jan) Hourly 18 (Jan) (2300hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 18 (Jan) दोपहर समाचार 18 (Jan) समाचार संध्या 18 (Jan) प्रति घंटा समाचार 18 (Jan) (2305hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 18 (Jan) Khabrein(Day) 18 (Jan) Khabrein(Eve) 18 (Jan)
Aaj Savere 18 (Jan) Parikrama 18 (Jan)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 18 (Jan) Samayki 18 (Jan) Sports Scan 18 (Jan) Spotlight/News Analysis 18 (Jan) Samachar Darshan 17 (Jan) Radio Newsreel 18 (Jan)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 19 (Dec) Surkhiyon Mein 19 (Dec) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 15 (Jan) Vaad-Samvaad 14 (Jan) Money Talk 14 (Jan) Current Affairs 17 (Jan)
  • Money Matters 18 (Jan)
  • International News 17 (Jan)
  • Press Review 18 (Jan)
  • From the States 18 (Jan)
  • Let's Connect 18 (Jan)
  • 360°- Ek Parivesh 18 (Jan)
  • Know Your Constitution 15 (Jan)
  • Ek Bharat Shreshta Bharat 18 (Jan)
  • Sanskriti Darshan 18 (Jan)