Last Updated : Jul 22 2019 11:44AM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Chandrayaan 2 to be launched from Sriharikota at 2:43 pm            Congress, JD(S) coalition govt in Karnataka likely to face trust vote            At least 37 persons killed due to lightening in Uttar Pradesh            British PM Theresa May to hold emergency meeting on seized tanker in Iran            BCCI announces Indian squads for West Indies tour           

National News

Jun 18, 2019

Lok Sabha adjourns for the day after completion of oath taking ceremony

The Lok Sabha has been adjourned for the day after completion of the oath taking ceremony. Newly elected members of the Lok Sabha continued to take oath on the second day of the 17th Lok Sabha session today. 

Members from States including Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and  West Bengal took oath.  Prominent among those who took oath are Sonia Gandhi, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Menaka Gandhi, T R Baalu, A Raja, Dayanidhi Maran, Kanimozhi, Karti Chidambaram, Col Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Jas Kaur Meena, OM Birla,  Sunny Deol, Manish Tewari, Parneet Kaur and   Sashi Tharoor took oath.  

UPA Chairperson and senior Congress leader Sonia Gandhi, who retained the Rae Bareli Parliamentary Constituency, took her oath in Hindi on the second day of the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha. While there was a loud thumping of desks by the Congress members, voices were heard from the BJP benches greeting Sonia Gandhi for taking oath in Hindi. All the MPs from Tamil Nadu took oath in Tamil. From Odisha, most of the members took oath in Odia while some preferred Sanskrit.

Similarly, from Punjab, members took oath in Punjabi and English. Most of the Telangana MPs took oath in Telugu while Asasuddin Owaisi took oath in Urdu. Other members elected from Uttar Pradesh includes Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Dr Mahesh Sharma, Hema Malini, Akhilesh Yadav, Satyapal Singh, Azam Khan Ravi Kishan and Anupriya Patel.  

Members of West Bengal including Locket Chatterjee, S S Ahluwalia, Sudip Bandyopadhyay, Kalyan Banerjee and Satabdi Roy were among those who took oath. Most of them preferred  Bangla and some chose Sanskrit. Yesterday, Prime Minister and Leader of the House Narendra Modi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, and several other Union Ministers and members took oath during the first session of newly elected 17th Lok Sabha. 

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 22 (Jul) Midday News 21 (Jul) News at Nine 21 (Jul) Hourly 22 (Jul) (1005hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 22 (Jul) दोपहर समाचार 21 (Jul) समाचार संध्या 21 (Jul) प्रति घंटा समाचार 22 (Jul) (1100hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 22 (Jul) Khabrein(Day) 21 (Jul) Khabrein(Eve) 21 (Jul)
Aaj Savere 22 (Jul) Parikrama 21 (Jul) Lok Ruchi Samachar 21 (Jul)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 21 (Jul) Samayki 21 (Jul) Sports Scan 21 (Jul) Spotlight/News Analysis 21 (Jul) Samachar Darshan 21 (Jul) Radio Newsreel 20 (Jul)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 18 (Jul) Surkhiyon Mein 18 (Jul) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 17 (Jul) Vaad-Samvaad 16 (Jul) Money Talk 16 (Jul) Current Affairs 19 (Jul)