A- A A+
Last Updated : Feb 28 2020 5:43PM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Prez Kovind says science must work for people by contributing to their development & well-being            Whole World coming together in fight against terrorism: Rajnath Singh            Home Minister chairs 24th Eastern Zonal Council meeting in Bhubaneswar            Delhi LG Anil Baijal visits violence affected areas, takes stock of situation            Indian women's cricket team to face Sri Lanka in final Group A match of T20 World Cup tomorrow           

National News

Dec 10, 2019

VP Naidu urges Parliamentarians, media to take part in addressing social challenges

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu has said that Parliament must support constructive initiatives of the government and suggest solutions to the challenges as they emerge as the government depends on the collective advice of the Parliament.

He said, Parliamentarians should be virtuous, mature and wise so that they can collectively be a body that guides the nation's future in the right direction.

Speaking after presenting Lokmat Parliamentary Awards in New Delhi today, the Vice President called upon Parliamentarians and the Media to actively take part in addressing social challenges like poverty, illiteracy, gender discrimination, and atrocities against women that were impeding the progress of India.

Mr Naidu said, parliamentarians represent the growing aspirations of the people and have a responsibility to take people voices in the parliament that help shape the nation.

He said, parliamentarians should work sincerely to transform the country to new heights and for growth of inclusive society where an underprivileged section of the society can be uplifted first.  

Stating that the media has a major role in holding Parliamentarians accountable to their people, the Vice President called upon media to ensure this accountability by informing and educating people.

Our correspondent reports that the Lokmat awards are given in four specified categories for both houses each, including Lifetime Achievement, Best Parliamentarian of the year, Best women Parliamentarian of the year and Best debut woman Parliamentarian of the year.

The awardee Parliamentarians were selected on the basis of their active participation in the matter of public interest in the Parliament. The selection was done by an eleven-member Jury of eminent personalities with Sharad Pawar as its Chairman.

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 28 (Feb) Midday News 28 (Feb) News at Nine 27 (Feb) Hourly 28 (Feb) (1705hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 28 (Feb) दोपहर समाचार 28 (Feb) समाचार संध्या 27 (Feb) प्रति घंटा समाचार 28 (Feb) (1700hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 28 (Feb) Khabrein(Day) 28 (Feb) Khabrein(Eve) 27 (Feb)
Aaj Savere 28 (Feb) Parikrama 27 (Feb)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 27 (Feb) Samayki 27 (Feb) Sports Scan 27 (Feb) Spotlight/News Analysis 27 (Feb) Samachar Darshan 26 (Feb) Radio Newsreel 27 (Feb)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 20 (Feb) Surkhiyon Mein 20 (Feb) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 26 (Feb) Vaad-Samvaad 25 (Feb) Money Talk 18 (Feb) Current Affairs 21 (Feb)
  • Money Matters 27 (Feb)
  • International News 28 (Feb)
  • Press Review 28 (Feb)
  • From the States 28 (Feb)
  • Let's Connect 28 (Feb)
  • 360°- Ek Parivesh 28 (Feb)
  • Know Your Constitution 30 (Jan)
  • Ek Bharat Shreshta Bharat 28 (Feb)
  • Sanskriti Darshan 28 (Feb)
  • Fit India New India 27 (Feb)