A- A A+
Last Updated : Jan 26 2020 7:33AM     Screen Reader Access
News Highlights
Government and opposition must move forward in tandem to ensure the country's development and welfare of its people: President Kovind            Government announces 141 Padma Awards for this year on occasion of 71st Republic Day            All arrangements in place for Republic Day celebrations            PM to share his thoughts in Mann Ki Baat Programme on All India Radio at 6 PM today            Principal Secretary to Prime Minister chairs high level meeting on Coronavirus outbreak           

State News

Dec 16, 2019

Over 62 pct polling recorded in fourth phase of Assembly elections in Jharkhand

Tweeted By @DDNewsLive
The fourth phase of Assembly elections in Jharkhand passed off peacefully. Fifteen constituencies spread over four districts, namely Dhanbad, Deoghar, Giridih and Bokaro, went to polls in this phase today.

No untoward incident has been reported from the areas where polling was held.

Chief Electoral Officer, Vinay Kumar Choubey, said 62.54 per cent voting was recorded in this phase. He said the percentage is likely to increase after getting the final figure from presiding officers.

Over 66 per cent voting was recorded in the five Naxal-affected constituencies of Bagodar, Jamua, Giridih, Dumri and Tundi. Polling in these constituencies concluded at 3 pm due to security reasons.  In the remaining 10 seats, voting ended at 5 PM.

AIR correspondent reports that a large number of people in the Naxal-infested constituencies came out from their homes to cast votes.

During today's polling, rural voters have exercised their right to franchise in large numbers than the urban voters. Women voters have out-numbered male voters in almost all polling booths of 15 constituencies. 

95 per cent Divyaang voters also have exercised their votes. Maximum 75 per cent voting was recorded in Chandankiyari followed by 73 per cent in Madhupur and 70 per cent in Sindri constituency.

The political fortune of 221 candidates including 22 women have been sealed in EVMs. This includes two Jharkhand ministers - Raj Paliwar and Amar Bauri - seven former ministers and 14 sitting MLAs. After the fourth phase of elections, polling has been completed in 65 constituencies out of 81. In remaining 16 constituencies, polling will be on 20th of this month. 

   Related News

Live Twitter Feed

Listen News

Morning News 25 (Jan) Midday News 25 (Jan) News at Nine 25 (Jan) Hourly 26 (Jan) (0605hrs)
समाचार प्रभात 25 (Jan) दोपहर समाचार 25 (Jan) समाचार संध्या 25 (Jan) प्रति घंटा समाचार 26 (Jan) (0600hrs)
Khabarnama (Mor) 25 (Jan) Khabrein(Day) 25 (Jan) Khabrein(Eve) 25 (Jan)
Aaj Savere 25 (Jan) Parikrama 25 (Jan)

Listen Programs

Market Mantra 25 (Jan) Samayki 24 (Jan) Sports Scan 25 (Jan) Spotlight/News Analysis 25 (Jan) Samachar Darshan 24 (Jan) Radio Newsreel 25 (Jan)
    Public Speak

    Country wide 23 (Jan) Surkhiyon Mein 23 (Jan) Charcha Ka Vishai Ha 22 (Jan) Vaad-Samvaad 14 (Jan) Money Talk 14 (Jan) Current Affairs 24 (Jan)
  • Money Matters 25 (Jan)
  • International News 24 (Jan)
  • Press Review 25 (Jan)
  • From the States 24 (Jan)
  • Let's Connect 25 (Jan)
  • 360°- Ek Parivesh 25 (Jan)
  • Know Your Constitution 24 (Jan)
  • Ek Bharat Shreshta Bharat 25 (Jan)
  • Sanskriti Darshan 25 (Jan)
  • Fit India New India 25 (Jan)